PGM Home

Contact us: 620-221-3128
[email protected]

Pi Gamma Mu International Honor Society in Social Sciences
International Honor Society in Social Sciences
Pi Gamma Mu®
International Honor Society
in Social Sciences
1001 Millington Street, Suite B
Winfield, KS 67156
Phone: (620) 221-3128
Fax (620) 221-3276

Prominent Pi Gamma Mu Members


Prominent Members of Pi Gamma Mu

Henry J. Abraham – internationally recognized constitutionalist, and Social Science (Pi Gamma Mu journal) assistant editor (1956-1967)

Jane Addams - early social worker and founder of Hull House (America’s original settlement house), and first female winner of the Nobel Peace Prize (1931)

Ricardo Joaquín Alfaro – President of Panama (1931-1932)

Edgardo J. Angara – Senator of the Philippines (1987-present)

Ernst Philip Boas - famous cardiologist, inventor of the cardiotachometer, and early proponent of national health insurance

Richard E. Byrd - US admiral and polar explorer who was first to fly over the North and South Poles, and Pi Gamma Mu honorary national president (1931-1935)

Conchita Carpio-Morales - Justice of the Supreme Court of the Philippines (2001-present)

William T. Coleman, Jr. – author of the winning legal brief in Brown v. Board of Education (1954) outlawing racial segregation in public education, and US Secretary of Transportation (1975-1977)

Michael Copps - Commissioner of the US Federal Communications Commission (2001-present)

Hilario Davide, Jr . – Chief Justice of the Philippines (1997-2005), and Philippine Ambassador to the United Nations (2006-present)

Teresita Leonardo de Castro - Justice of the Supreme Court of the Philippines (2007-present)

Diana L. DeGette – US Congresswoman from Colorado (1996-present) and chief deputy whip of the US House of Representatives (2006-present)

Robert D. Eilers - originator of health care management and health management organizations (HMOs)

Charles Abram Ellwood – eminent sociologist, founder of Duke University’s Sociology Department, and Pi Gamma Mu national president (1931-1937)

Juan Ponce Enrile – Senator of the Philippines (1987-present)

Paul Finkelstein - President and Chief Executive Officer (1996-present), and Chairman of the Board (2004-present) of Regis Corporation - the world's largest hair salon industry and Fortune 500 corporation.

Robert B. Goergen - founder and incumbent chairman and CEO of Blyth, Inc.

Charles Grassley – US Senator from Iowa (1980-present)

Grace Raymond Hebard – political economist and pioneering historian of the Native Americans, and Pi Gamma Mu co-founder and national vice-president (1924-1931)

Lyndon Baines Johnson - US President (1963-1969)

Reginald H. Jones - chairman and CEO of General Electric Co. (1971-1982)

David M. Kennedy - US Secretary of the Treasury (1968-1971), and US Ambassador to NATO (1972-1973)

Charles P. Kindleberger - M.I.T. economist and chief architect of the Marshall Plan

Jacques Paul Klein – Under-Secretary-General of the United Nations (1996-1999)

Simon S. Kuznets - former Pi Gamma Mu chapter officer, internationally renowned economist, and winner of the 1971 Nobel Prize in Economic Science

Jose P. Laurel – President of the Philippines (1942-1945)

Salvador H. Laurel - Senator (1967-1973) and Vice-President of the Philippines (1986-1991)

Ferdinand E. Marcos – President of the Philippines (1965-1986)

Mark Martin - senior justice of the North Carolina Supreme Court (1998-present)

Spark M. Matsunaga - US Senator from Hawaii (1976-1990)

Margaret Mead – pioneering cultural anthropologist and 1956 Pi Gamma Mu Convention keynote speaker

Marilyn McAfee - career diplomat and U.S. Ambassador to Guatemala (1992-1997)

Roy F. Nichols – winner of the Pulitzer Prize in History (1949)

S. Howard Patterson – noted labor and social economist, author of microeconomics textbooks, and longest serving Pi Gamma Mu national president (1937-1951)

Lester B. Pearson – Prime Minister of Canada (1962-1968) and winner of the Nobel Prize for Peace (1957)

Judith S. Rodin - groundbreaking experimental psychologist, first female Ivy League university president, and president of the Rockefeller Foundation (2005-present)

Edward A. Ross – pioneer in criminology and Pi Gamma Mu honorary national president (1937-1951)

Miriam Defensor Santiago – constitutionalist and Senator of the Philippines (1995-present)

William French Smith – US Attorney-General (1980-1985)

Pitirim Sorokin – renowned sociologist, founder of Harvard University’s Sociology Department, and Pi Gamma Mu national vice-president (1937-1941)

Gustavs Zemgals President of Latvia (1927-1931)